Budget-Savvy Spring Sihouette Make

I love my Silhouette Cameo and I love being creative, but sometimes how much it all costs takes me by surprise (eek!)  So I decided that I would try to waste less….. So this post started as an Easter card and ended up as a spring decoration too – eggsellent!

weheartcards_Easter_card

 

Easterbunnies

On the first cards I made I omitted the hole in the bunny (see bottom photograph below)  I then discovered  it was so much easier to get my Cameo to cut the hole and amended the studio!

By the way, if you are interested to learn why rabbits are associated with Easter there is some interesting info on Wikipedia !

I visited a local gift shop and there they had some great spring/Easter decorations and that inspired me to use the leftover little bunnies for my spring decor!

Weheartcards_SpringDecor

First I took some old bangles and wrapped washi tape around them in spring colours

IMG_1621

 Then I took my bunnies

weheartcards_bunnies

And threaded them onto some coloured raffia and voila!

weheartcards_Eastertree

They look great as well as being super-easy and budget-savvy!  You could do the same thing with hearts, butterflies, anything to match the season!

weheartcards_Easter

TheSilhouetteChallenge-TTC&Friends-300width

Want to check out more Silhouette projects today?

Click on the links below to visit the projects shared by my Silhouette Challenge buddies:

D.I.Y. Canvas Date Art – The House on Hillbrook

Paint Chip Spring Ornaments – Coley’s Corner

D.I.Y. Vertical File Folders (Martha Stewart Home Office Knockoff with Free Cut File) – Whole New Leaf

Anchor’s Away! A Fabric Applique Silhouette Tutorial – Lil’ Mrs. Tori

D.I.Y. Subway Art Canvas & Free Cut File – The Thinking Closet

“Different Is Good” Autism Awareness Tee – Tried and True

A Gift! – For ‘Just a Little Nutty’ – An Elegant Touch

Mother’s Day Celebration – Creative Turn

Interested in joining us for our group posting event next month?  We’d love to have you.  Simply contact Lauren from The Thinking Closet by email

About weheartcards

http://www.etsy.com/shop/weheartcards Esther Warner started designing cards several years ago, then in 2003 she returned to University as a mature student, completing an IT degree. Since then she has developed her passion for paper and creativity by computerised card-making. In the corporate world she was awarded ‘Worcestershire Businesswoman of the Year’ in 2005 Esther says, “When was little I loved getting post. The excitement of getting a letter or something delivered to my door when it WASN’T my birthday or Christmas was really exciting. Wondering who had sent it and what it could be…. The anticipation of opening the envelope to discover what was inside was thrilling! ” In later years Esther was very homesick at boarding school and the daily post distribution became the most exciting part of the day. Each card from we♥cards is filled with love and made for the recipient personally, Esther hopes that they convey the excitement she felt when she was small and received a letter from her Grandma!
This entry was posted in Crafting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Budget-Savvy Spring Sihouette Make

  1. Isn’t that great when your hard work on one creation ends up doubling as another! These bunnies are too cute; and I love how resourceful you were in using bangles covered in washi as part of your design. Beautiful work, Esther!

  2. I am so smitten by your little bunnies. I think these are so cute. Don’t you just love that you can make personal and beautiful holiday shapes in a jif with the Silhouette.

Leave a Reply

